The World Food Prize Selects Record Number of Students for Its Prestigious Internship Program

The World Food Prize Foundation announced today the selection of a record number of George Washington Carver (GWC) Interns for the summer program. Since its inception in 2001 the George Washington Carver internship program has impacted over 300 students, welcoming 21 this summer.

Each academic semester and summer, a group of highly qualified undergraduate and graduate students are chosen for this unique program, which provides interns with the opportunity to take significant responsibility and initiative in planning and carrying out a wide range of the Foundation’s projects.

“The GWC internship is the perfect stepping stone for those wanting to engage with global hunger after college. You work with empowered individuals who treat you like a peer and motivate you to make your own impact,” said Sarah Blair, Summer 2018 George Washington Carver Intern. “I am leaving this internship inspired to continue to work towards feeding the world because the World Food Prize is proof that women can make a difference in global food insecurity. Regardless if you aren’t sure if a career in global hunger is right for you, because I sure wasn’t, the GWC internship gives you the professional skills to take on any future career you encounter.”

Twenty-one interns from Central College, Drake University, Eastern Illinois University, Iowa State University, Northwestern University, Roosevelt High School, Trinity College, the University of Iowa, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the University of Wisconsin-Madison will learn first-hand both the public and private side of operating an international non-profit organization and increase their understanding of the international fight against hunger, malnutrition, and poverty. The GWC Interns will work one-on-one with a staff mentor, and play an integral role of this internationally renowned organization as well as the spring Iowa Youth Institute program. More information about the George Washington Carver Internship can be found at www.worldfoodprize.org/gwcintern.

“Interns at the World Food Prize play an absolutely indispensable role in the planning and implementation of all World Food Prize programs,” said Ambassador Kenneth M. Quinn, president of the World Food Prize Foundation. “The success of our upcoming youth education programs and Laureate Announcement is dependent on their input and performance.”

  1. Megan Adam | Iowa State University |Class of 2019 | madam@worldfoodprize.org

  2. Adrienne Bergman | Central College | Class of 2020 | abergman@worldfoodprize.org

  3. Madeleine Bradley | University of Iowa | Class of 2020 | mbradley@worldfoodprize.org

  4. Katie Brouwer | Eastern Illinois University | Class of 2019 | kbrouwer@worldfoodprize.org

  5. Giselle Coreas | University of Iowa | Class of 2021 | gcoreas@worldfoodprize.org

  6. Abigail Cornett | Drake University | Class of 2020 | acornett@worldfoodprize.org

 

 

  1. Clara Cownie | University of Wisconsin-Madison | Class of 2022 | ccownie@worldfoodprize.org

  2. Olivia Denkinger | University of Iowa | Class of 2021 | odenkinger@worldfoodprize.org

  3. Abigail Dowd | University of Nebraska-Lincoln | Class of 2021 | adowd@worldfoodprize.org

  4. Sydney Evans | University of Iowa | Class of 2021 | sevans@worldfoodprize.org

  5. Joshua Grimm | University of Iowa | Class of 2020 | jgrimm@worldfoodprize.org

  6. Ariz Keshwani | Northwestern University | Class of 2019 | akeshwani@worldfoodprize.org

  7. Adam Kiesel | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | akiesel@worldfoodprize.org

  8. Mitchell Krapfl | Iowa State University | Class of 2020 | mkrapfl@worldfoodprize.org
  9. Divina Lama | Trinity College | Class of 2021 | dlama@worldfoodprize.org

  10. Ellie Miglin | Roosevelt High School | Class of 2020 | emiglin@worldfoodprize.org

  11. Tiffany Nelson |Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | tnelson@worldfoodprize.org

  12. Aryaa Regmi | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | aregmi@worldfoodprize.org

  13. Keegan Sassaman-Clark | Iowa State University | Class of 2021 | kclark@worldfoodprize.org

  14. Madelyn Stoen| University of Iowa | Class of 2021 | mstoen@worldfoodprize.org

  15. Hannah Thomas | Iowa State University | Class of 2019 | hthomas@worldfoodprize.org

ABOUT THE WORLD FOOD PRIZE: The World Food Prize is the foremost international award recognizing the achievements of individuals who have advanced human development by improving the quality, quantity or availability of food in the world. The Prize was founded in 1986 by Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, recipient of the 1970 Nobel Peace Prize. Since then, the World Food Prize has honored 49 outstanding individuals who have made vital contributions throughout the world. The World Food Prize annually hosts the Borlaug Dialogue international symposium and a variety of youth education programs to help further the discussion on cutting-edge global food security issues and inspire the next generation to end hunger.